Advertisement
Thanks Thanks:  0
Likes Likes:  0
Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Having to face life after unsuccessful suicide attempt

I am 43 years old.....not a mixed up teen..... I have had suicidal thoughts from a young age and throughtout my life have made various attempts to take my life.

I have just discharged myself from a psyc. hospital. I was sent there 3 weeks ago after attempting to take an overdose. I was angry at myself for failing and angrier at my partner for "saving" me. I tried to make quite sure that I had taken a fatal combination. I am a nurse so, am quite aware of potentially dangerous and lethal medications. My partner woke up during the night and found me before it was too late. She allowed them to resuscitate me twice....this made me angry.

I should be feeling better but I don't. I don't know how to find the motivation to want to live. Everyone expects me to suddenly be interested in life just because I have spend time in a psychiatric facility. Should I be feeling different?

Desiree

Re: Having to face life after unsuccessful suicide attempt!!!

Being hospitalized for observation after a suicide attempt isn't therapy, Desiree... it's just crisis intervention. I wouldn't expect you to suddenly feel nappy or even happier after that experience.

But I would encourage you to consider that you now have another opportunity to make changes that will matter to you and to those who care about you.

You're a nurse, you said. Do you know what resources are available in your area and how to access them?

I am aware of the resources available to me.... I have been having therapy every second day as my psychiatrist feels that I am still too unstable to be trusted. I have not been able to identify why I have a need for destructive behaviour at my age.