More threads by Ettina

Ettina

Hi, I'm a new member. My name is Ettina.

I'm kind of on both sides of the thing. I'm a 3rd year undergraduate psychology student (23 years old), and I've also got a dual diagnosis of PTSD and PDD NOS (atypical autism). So, I'll talk a bit about all three aspects of myself.

PTSD was my first diagnosis. When I was 10 months old, my parents discovered that my two cousins (14 and 11 years old) were being physically and sexually abused by their father, my paternal uncle. My father's family had a rule to protect his brother and keep him out of trouble, but my father bucked that rule and told the police about the abuse. My uncle went to jail, his stepdaughter to her father, his kids with his second wife to my aunt, and his kids with his first wife (the ones who told) stayed with us. Unfortunately, they were extremely emotionally disturbed, and were emotionally and physically abusive towards my parents on a regular basis. I witnessed all this. And unbeknownst to my parents, they both independently decided to sexually abuse me. The older sister ran away permanently when I was 3. The younger brother stayed more two years until he sexually assaulted a classmate, which made my parents realize I wasn't safe around him, so they sent him to a foster home. A year later, when I was 6, he confessed to abusing me, and when I was questioned I reported abuse from both of them. That's when I got my PTSD diagnosis.