More threads by Daniel E.

Daniel E.

daniel@psychlinks.ca
Administrator
An Interview with Marsha Linehan, Ph.D. on Dialectical Behavior Therapy
The Wise Counsel Podcast

MP3 Audio of the Interview

Dr. David Van Nuys
: Welcome to Wise Counsel, a podcast interview series sponsored by MentalHelp.net, covering topics in Mental Health, Wellness, and Psychotherapy. My name is Dr. David Van Nuys. I'm a clinical psychologist, and your host.

On today's show we'll be talking about Dialectical Behavior Therapy with my guest, Dr. Marsha Linehan. Marsha Linehan, Ph.D is a professor of Psychology.

Marsha Linehan, Ph.D. is a Professor of Psychology, Adjunct Professor of Psychiatry and Behavioral Sciences at the University of Washington, and she is also Director of the Behavioral Research and Therapy Clinics there. She is also the author of four books and numerous scientific journal articles.

Her primary research is in the application of behavioral models to suicidal behaviors, drug abuse, and borderline personality disorder. She is also working to develop effective models for transferring efficacious treatments from the research academy to the clinical community.

The treatment she has developed, combines the technology of change derived from behavioral science with the radical acceptance, or "technology of acceptance, " derived from both eastern zen practices and western contemplative spirituality. The practice of mindfulness, willingness, and radical acceptance form an important part of her treatment approach.

Dr Linehan has received many awards recognizing her clinical and research contributions. She is the past-president of the Association for the Advancement of Behavior Therapy, a fellow of the American Psychological Association and the American Psycho-pathological Association, a diplomat of the American Board of Behavioral Psychology and is currently President of Division 12, Society of Clinical Psychology, American Psychological Association.