More threads by making_art

making_art

[h=4] Mirroring an iPhone device screen onto your desktop
[/h] Feb 3, 2014

inShare9​

This blog post is contributed by Murali Krishna who works with the S&D department. He is a BTech graduate by qualification and started his career with Java J2EE development.
The back story
I am an application developer for IBM, and I was recently working on a native application in iOS for one of our clients in which the camera takes a picture of an object and sends it to the server. Then the server performs a comparison with the predefined list of images already placed on the server and returns the matching percentage back to the device. I was managing the comparison with my Java logic when I realized the real challenge.

When the project is in development, I am supposed to give a demo every week, each time a new person is added to the client's user group to have a look at the project (to suggest any changes required in the flow of the application and in the image recognition process). I cannot do this with the simulator because the camera does not work in it. At the same time, I cannot travel to the client's location every day. So the best option that I was left with is projecting the screen of the mobile device onto the desktop and sharing the desktop with the onsite people.
So I did a little research on how to share my mobile device screen on a desktop. After a few days of investigation, I learned quite a bit and thought I would share this knowledge.
mirrordevice-1.jpg
Figure 1: Mirroring a device onto the desktop
I figured out several different solutions for iOS, and in future posts I'll explain how to mirror your screen on the Android and BlackBerry platforms.
Mirroring your screen in the iPhone platform
Here are three options that I discovered for iOS:

1. Buying mobile apps from the Apple App Store, which helps you in this process, or buying an application like Reflector