More threads by harveyl

harveyl

I'm new to this chat forum. I'm lost as to how to help my daughter anymore. Not sure if there is a parent forum, but thought I'd try this one. My daughter is now 21, she's been on medication for depression since she was 16. She went from a bright, cheerful, active teen, to a depressed suicidal teen all in the matter of months. She managed to graduate from High School. She has never held a job longer than a few months, always some reason to quit. Tried college but again would quit. She put on about 80lbs and just seemed to sleep life away.

I'm a single parent and have tried my best to get her the help she needs. But just recently I've come to the conclusion that I've been taking the responsibility for her actions. I don't feel she has taken ownership.

She had been seeing this young man for over 1 year, and has broken up with him numerous times. At her lastest counseling session I found out he verbally abuses her, by calling her stupid and putting her down due to being overweight, he's very controlling. She pals with no one else but this idiot. I don't speak to this young man anymore. She broke up with him about 3 weeks ago and I was happy. But just last week she went back. This is probably the third breakup and they aren't handled gracefully, it's usually with yelling on his part. I felt it was time she learned how to handle her own life and make her own mistakes, I told her she had to move out. So she moved in with this control freak.