More threads by David Baxter PhD

David Baxter PhD

Late Founder
The Open Office and ADHD: Imperfect Together
by Allison Russo, ADDitude
November 20, 2017

?The first step,? my doctor said, ?is to move out of the co-working space.? I was a business owner at the time, and had just relocated my company to Washington, DC. Before the move, I?d been off meds for two years, managing through yoga, ginseng, and a lot of patience from loved ones. But living and working in a bigger city meant more stimulating surroundings, and it didn?t take long for me to meltdown. I saw a doctor right away, and I told him about my worsening symptoms. He told me to change my office environment? and to change it fast.

The open office environment was designed for collaboration. But when other employers saw how much money they could save by cramming everyone in a single room, open offices went mainstream: 70 percent of American companies now have them.

As an extrovert with ADHD, the open office should have been heaven for me. There are no barriers, no hierarchies, no rules. The open office is a wall-free, cubicle-free room, just desk after desk lined with happy, gleeful workers. Or, as I like to call it, hell.

When you put someone with ADHD in an open office, you might as well throw her paycheck in the trashcan. Because that?s how much value you?re going to get from her work. For people with ADHD, the open office is not a collaborative space. It?s a loud, chaotic wasteland.

Adults with ADHD love to collaborate, don?t get me wrong. We are collaborating geniuses. Our boundless creativity means no one will put together a better marketing plan, strategize a better way to take down the competition, or forecast where an industry is heading better than someone with ADHD. Please don?t stunt our talent by making us work in a distracting free for all.