More threads by webmistress003

I'm not sure if I'm posting this in the correct location, so please forgive me if it is misplaced.

I'm an author currently conducting research for a story, and I can't seem to find a name for a specific condition. I suspect it's my failing memory, and was hoping some resident medical professional could point me in the right direction if at all possible.

The symptoms are reverse stimuli reactions. IE. Pain causes pleasure, pleasure causes pain. The subject's mind somehow crosses the two, and positive physical stimuli causes a negative reaction. Vice versa and so on.

I have seen it referred to in my past months researching PTSD and Brief Psychotic Disorder, but cannot for the life of me find it again.

Any help would be so greatly appreciated. I have been hunting for almost a week now to no avail, and fear that I'm using the wrong terminology. All of my stimuli searches come up with the same research exploring the reaction times to negative vs. positive stimuli, but none explore a possible counter-reaction of the two.

Thanks in advance, and again, my apologies if this post is misplaced.

BluMac81

Wow interesting, and I'm sorry I don't have the medical answer either. Though sadism (enjoy giving pain) and masochism (enjoy receiving pain) fit those psycologically, they don't fit the neurological "crossing of wires" you speak of in the medical sense. Keep looking, and let us know what you find out :) Best of luck in your book!

Thanks for the welcome and replies!

Synaesthesia is a very interesting concept, and though it doesn't logistically fit, the overall idea is similar.

I'm resigned to believing it resides somewhere in a dysfunction of the somatosensory cortex. The masochism theory fits well with half of the condition, and I'm wondering if I can't use the popularity of the term to find a more neurological exploration, and thus lead me to it's opposite.