More threads by Bumblebean

Bumblebean

Hi. I'm not very good at this so I hope I can make a long story short. I have what my doctor calls chronic pain caused by about 5 different things plus some kind of post viral problem that I don't really understand. He also sent me to a psychiatrist who said I have depression and anxiety.

I was a basically happy kid and up til about 25 even though I know now that things were pretty rough, and I think I did pretty good in life because I had my own ways of quietening my mind and feelings, but now the pain and difficulties are making it harder to cope with everything, and these really sad dark moods just take over. Sometimes they're so bad I wish I could just die in my sleep or something. I have thought a couple of times about suicide but I hate the idea of what that could do to the people I care about so I don't think I would ever do that.

I have talked with my doctor and the psychiatrist a lot about depression medicine because I have so many troubles with them, so right now they're saying just to focus on managing the pain. We also talked about CBT. I guess I have been doing CBT most of my life and didn't know it, but it's getting harder because it's so hard to concentrate. I can see the psychiatrist once in a while but there's no therapists except the ones who charge more than I can afford on disability, so most of the time I'm kind of on my own.

I live near the coast in northern BC not far from Prince Rupert, and as some may have heard, there was a big earthquake at Haida Gwaii a week ago. That really freaked me out. When I told my doctor about how nervous and scared and even more depressed than usual I've been since then he said maybe I have PTSD. Well, like I said things were pretty rough when I was a kid, and he thinks that could be why I'm reacting so badly. I don't know what difference that makes, but I'll see what the psychiatrist says I guess.