More threads by GDPR

GDPR

GDPR
I have been working at the same place for the past 5 years. I'm proud to say that because it's the first job I have been able to hold on to. I have had many jobs through the years, some have lasted an hour, or a day, some a week, some 2 weeks or a month, and one even lasted a year. I have never been fired though, I have quit all of them.

My husband encouraged me to start the one I'm currently working, after pulling myself out of a completely non-functioning state that lasted a year and a half. He thought it would help if I had something to get up for every day and if I had a daily routine. He was right, it did help in a lot of different ways. I believe that's definitely what I needed at the time.

It has really been a struggle though,even though it's just part time. When I'm going through rough times, I cut back on the amount of days/hours I work, and add more as I'm feeling up to it(I guess I am fortunate to be able to do that). Right now, I have added more because I thought I was up to it. But, it's just too much. It's too stressful. So I will have to cut back again. I know my work probably gets frustrated with me because I do this so often, which means they have to find a replacement for me, adjust the scheduling,etc. I worry that they will eventually get tired of this and fire me.

My husband wants me to quit and apply for disability. He doesn't understand why I put myself through all of this stress. I,on the other hand, want to hold on to this job as long as I possibly can. I feel like I have to prove to myself that I can do it. I don't consider myself 'disabled' and I am a little offended that my husband obviously thinks I am.