More threads by David Baxter PhD

David Baxter PhD

Late Founder
When Stigma Prevented Me from Getting Help
By Jenny Marie, NAMI
Oct. 22, 2018

I was a young girl when I started to experience confusing and frightening symptoms. I didn’t tell anyone. I knew my problem wasn’t normal and didn't think anyone would ever understand. I didn't dare speak up, in fear of being ridiculed. I thought I could handle it on my own.

It took me twenty years to divulge my secret. I finally went to my doctor and was diagnosed with panic disorder and agoraphobia.

I'm not alone in waiting so long to get medical help. For many, it takes years to tell someone after the first warning signs appear.

The main reason? Stigma.

I was able to hide my panic symptoms. I suffered silently and tried to move on with my life. I graduated from college, got married and had two baby girls. But by my early 30s, my panic attacks became more frequent and more severe.

I was angry with myself because I couldn’t stop the anxiety. My internal monologue wasn't very kind:

This is stupid. I worry too much. No one else feels this way.

What's wrong with me?

Maybe it shouldn’t bother me when my heart beats too fast, and I get lightheaded and dizzy. It’s just how I am. So what if I feel sweaty and shaky, and start to black out? I need to be tougher when I think I'm going to faint. I have to calm down when I feel like running out of the place where I'm panicking.

Who does that? Get over it.

It's the dumbest thing ever that I don’t want to drive because I'm scared of feeling panicky. People get annoyed when they're stuck in traffic, but their hearts don't pound and they don't need to pull over to get hold of themselves.