More threads by Eye Stigmata

I just need to write this down on here because I have no one I can talk to about this. I had been doing well with my coping strategies for a few months, with the odd slip here and there (more recently) But I had been doing well. I figured I was going to be ok and I really didn't need to SI anymore, I could be free of it. Tonight I SI worse than I have in a really long time.

I'm wondering if it's possible to go through a withdrawl of SI or any other coping strategy to the point where you just crack because you haven't done it in so long, and it's the only thing that makes you feel better. And because you haven't done it for a long time, when you do, it's 100 times stronger than you would normally do.

I don't know...I feel like I need more help than I can afford. Right now I only do phone therapy every 2 weeks with my therapist who is back home. I feel like it's not enough...but I can't afford to see her every week. Now that I'm living on my own, my finances are 100% on me. And because I've been hiding my feelings from everyone I know...I feel like I can't ask my mom for help to pay for the therapy.

Sometimes I do feel like letting go would just be easier...I'm 21 and I feel like I'm 80, my mind just never shuts off, my feelings never shut off. I just feel like I'm fighting myself every single day...

David Baxter PhD

Late Founder
In a crisis, people often revert to old coping skills. It sounds like that's what may have happened to you today.

I know you indicated that you don't want to ask for you mom for help with psychotherpy costs. Is that because you don't think she can afford it, or for other reasons?

No, I'm pretty sure she can afford it...but I feel really bad asking for 1. She helped me with my moving expenses which was well over $2000.00, and she helped me pay some of the deposit for my house.
She's trying to save for her retirement so I feel really guilty asking - though I know she would help me.