More threads by NightOwl

NightOwl

I just wondered if any of the members here had any tips on how to concentrate while I am studying? I find as I am studying a subject eg Politics, that I tend to drift into my own thoughts about that subject and lose concentration of studying the book. I keep having to draw my mind back to what I am studying.

Any ideas would be very much appreciated. :read2:

NightOwl

David Baxter PhD

Late Founder
Make a special place for studying away from other distractions. If you are having trouble studying in your usual place, move to a different spot.

Give yourself breaks. For example, for every half hour or hour of studying, plan a break to do something else more rewarding for 15 minutes or so. Reward yourself for studying.

If you're having a bad day, take a break and come back to it later.

NightOwl

Thank you David, that's some good tips there. I have been trying to study for long periods. One of my problems is that I have to re-read sections of the book to absorb it properly due to some sort of learning disability, and so it takes me a bit more time than other people.

I've been trying to get an assessment but it is very difficult where I live. I've been told by someone dealing with learning disabilities by phone that chatted to me that he can tell I am intelligent but he feels that it is some form of dyslexia. I've been reading around trying to get some idea of it and the closest I've found is something called Surface Dyslexia but I'm not sure.

I often work from notes and use a spell box or my computer to help me, but have no difficulty in reading at all. Face-to-face discussions are fine - I can easily talk over a subject. I understand that the OU will give me more time for my exams.

Thank you for your help. :)

NightOwl