More threads by wren

wren

I recently graduated from university and then attended a college where I had a miserable class experience. I was depressed all year, only recieving counselling about once every month, and on top of this experienced intense panic attacks and social anxiety. The class was extremely critical, and I did not find the teachers supportive given my circumstances.

I'm now looking for a job in the field I studied for, but at a recent interview (with a former grad of the same program) the interviewer asked if she could call my former teachers for a reference. I choked and said yes, but then said I'd prefer they call the company for which I did my internship. The internship was extremely positive and I performed "beyond expectations" in many of the aspects I'd struggled with in the more toxic environment of my class. In my class I had been described as coming accross as snobbish, cold, stern, (I clam up when I'm nervous - and my teacher was very unsympathetic when I told her of this fact) and my trigger lable, lazy. At my internship I was described as professional, personable, articulate, very approachable, hardworking, as going above and beyond to help, and demonstrating a great deal of enthusiasm towards the subject. The director of the company called me "wonderful" and they even threw a party for me when I left.

I felt like having this glowing review may still help me get the job, but felt uneasy about having to be apprehensive about calling my teachers.
I suspect they called the teachers anyways, and I did not get the job.