More threads by David Baxter PhD

David Baxter PhD

Late Founder
Does your partner have Asperger's?
The Times
February 23, 2008

Is your partner distant? Does he have poor social skills that make you shudder? Before you despair, it could be that he has undiagnosed Asperger?s syndrome

When Sarah Hendrickx met Keith Newton she thought he was just a little ?weird? and was hurt by his apparent lack of concern for her feelings. Although they soon became lovers, she characterised him as a ?heartless freak? while he saw her as an ?overemotional troublemaker?.

As a marital therapist, I am familiar with this battle and most couples will have privately thought something similar about their partner at some point. However, Keith has Asperger?s syndrome, a type of autism characterised by an inability to read body language, poor social skills, sensory sensitivity and a narrow, obsessive range of interests.

It is thought that about 1 person in 100 is somewhere on this autism spectrum, but most remain unaware of their condition. So what?s it like loving someone with Asperger?s and, if some of the arguments sound like an extreme version of our own, what can the rest of us learn from the experience?

Sarah, 40, and Keith, 39, got together four years ago through an internet dating site. ?Being together was idyllically wonderful, yet if something wasn?t quite right it would plummet into a hideous mess,? she says. ?He would become colder and colder. I would ask those stupid female questions: ?Do you think we will live together?? He would say: ?Seeing you once a week is enough for me. I don?t want any more.? I?d get terribly upset and he would just be staring at me emotionless or he?d disappear.? As the couple write in their book, Asperger Syndrome: a Love Story, their relationship became so painful that they split up for a while.