More threads by wifey

wifey

Hello all. I have never done this before!!! It feels a little scary. I am just looking for some advice/support/whathaveyou. I am from New Orleans (lived there till age 18) and my family evacuated from Katrina and came to stay with us here in our city (another southern town 8 hours away) for 6 weeks before going back. Unfortunately without knowing the challenges I would face I also took a job for less pay this year for the "clinical experience." I was happy in my previous job (did 2 years there) but had some concerns with my bosses, and when the lower-paying job was offered to me I felt I had to take a chance while I am young and don't have kids yet, etc. (So I guess I did the exact opposite of another poster, "Should I take the job?" and took the risk knowing I might not love it.) So I took the challenge, and then Katrina hit, and this has hit not only personally but professionally as well as I try to serve all the evacuated families. The one person I could really lean on and have emotional crises with was my mom. Now she is a basket case and I am just trying to support her and my family as they put their lives together...but they have gone back months ago and are living in a temporary (plastic sheeting ceiling-ed) apartment and working, so in a sense they're more fortunate than most. I took a chance on the lower-paying job because I wanted to try things while I am young, but the thing is that it is so rough. It is a social work job instead of my previous counseling job. I deal with major crises and family issues every day and it is breaking my heart and I don't know what to do. I am contracted for one year and will try to find something else next year but the amount of suffering others go through is just overwhelming. When my parents were here I thought I could just immerse myself in my job as people often do to deal with hardships--but my job is even more upsetting. I went to get my hair cut today and they said I have "major breakage"