More threads by David Baxter PhD

David Baxter PhD

Late Founder
Generics versus Brands: Are They Really the Same?
By DaveMSW
September 21, 2009

This is a topic that gets scant attention leaving the consuming public largely in the dark. Even though I work in the field, I've not hear this information except from my own reading. Fortunately, SSRIs are not as susceptible to problems crossing from brands to generics or between generics. But buproprion in other forms may not be as good as Wellbutrin.

Antidepressant and antipsychotic drugs have become blockbusters for the firms that developed them, making them hot markets for generic competition. Moreover, the effectiveness of these drugs is measured in the same way as anticonvulsants -- either they work or they don't.

Consequently, psychiatry is another specialty that has had to think about how to handle the variability in potency among generics.

Michael Thase, MD, of the University of Pennsylvania in Philadelphia, said that when problems do arise, it's usually when patients switch between different generic versions of a drug.

"There are multiple generics," Thase said, noting that broad bioavailability confidence intervals allow for substantial variation between different generics. "If the pharmacy changes generics frequently, which often they do because it's a highly competitive business ... you might have some series of 40% fluctuations," he said. "Every few months there might be such a large fluctuation."

But for antidepressants, clinical problems resulting from these fluctuations are not that common, he said. The dose-response relationships with SSRIs are not rigid, and, therefore, patients generally don't see big changes in drug effects, he said. "You might have an increase in side effects with the change, or you might feel you've lost a bit of the therapeutic effect."