More threads by quirkycanuck

Hi everyone,

This is my first time in this kind of forum. I have never been diagnosed with any kind of mood disorder, but over the last couple of years it's slowly become obvious to me that I have issues that just can't be fixed by my own methods. I have finally made an appointment next week to talk to my family doctor, which is a first step and I think an important one.

I joined this forum as a way to talk to other people who have mood disorders. The first thing I've realized from reading other people's posts is that there are lots of people out there like me. The second is that there's a language associated with this topic. It's a language I'll need to learn to understand what I'm talking about. People seem to have a lot of knowledge here and a lot of experience.

I guess the first sign that I was having problems was just an avoidance or anxiety at wanting to deal with things. I procrastinate a lot.. and I may tell myself that I always did. It's gotten a lot worse though. It's moved from being a little late with getting things done to being ridiculously late with important tasks that need to get finished. This affects my work, my home life and my relationships with my wife and 3 young children.