More threads by David Baxter PhD

David Baxter PhD

Late Founder
How do you un-friend someone gracefully?
by David Eddie, Globe and Mail
Thursday, Aug. 13, 2009

I've given as much as I can, but she's just too needy

The question
How do you un-friend someone gracefully? I had an old friend from university I'd kept in touch with, despite cross-country moves over the years.

When we found ourselves living in the same city we became closer friends again, but soon I realized her friendship was more of a drag than anything else. She was a struggling single mother at the time and really needed support. I gave as much as I could, but after a while I just found her too needy.

One day, a few months after my daughter was born, she called me and I just ... never called back. I've felt bad about it, but not bad enough to ever try to get in touch. My problem now is that she had lent me some baby clothes and accessories that I've been hanging onto for the past three years. I'm moving to another country in a few weeks and I don't want to keep carting around her stuff, but I'm too chicken to try to get in touch with her.

What would I say? Sorry I never called you back but I just didn't want to be your friend any more, here's your stuff back?

The answer
People tend to go about "un-friending" their compadres in one of two ways:

1. The WASP-y Freeze-Out;
  2. The Hotheaded Blow-up/Freak-out/Chew-out.
In the WASP-y Freeze-Out, the subject of your displeasure, often for reasons unbeknownst to them, just stops hearing from you.

Oh, you might "see each other around." But if the person calls, it takes you a long time to get back to them; or you might return their call with an e-mail; or not at all. Contact is never initiated.

Eventually, all but the thickest subjects will take the hint, the hauteur of your froideur letting them know they're the subject of a WASP-y Freeze Out.