More threads by David Baxter PhD

David Baxter PhD

Late Founder
Music Hurts So Good
by Genevieve Douglass
September 7, 2012

My background is originally in music, but for the last 5 years or so, I have been focused on psychology. Lately, I?ve been getting music work from old friends who?ve asked me to write demos, soundtracks, and songs. Revisiting musical work with my newly acquired positive psychology mindset has made me wonder again about why we humans love music so much.

Music and Sadness
The P in Seligman?s theory of PERMA stands for positive emotion. It?s something that we are motivated to experience in and of itself. However, one particular question came up for me as I perused my music collection. Much of what I enjoyed and appreciated listening to was actually in a minor key, often in a key intended to induce sadness.

Why would I gravitate toward experiencing a negative emotion such as sadness? On top of this, much of the music that I write is in a minor key and generally explores the depth of an emotion. Getting back into writing music has reminded me how differently I feel after a day filled with such emotional work. For lack of a more scientific term, I call it feeling grounded.

Exploring the Connection Between Music and Emotion
In a 2009 experiment performed at McGill University, researchers asked the question: what exactly is rewarding about listening to music? Participants brought in music that they found consistently pleasurable, defined by giving them chills each time they listened to it. They also listened to excerpts from other participants? music (as a neutral control). The music ranged in genre from Beethoven to Pink Floyd. The research team captured a battery of physiological measures in real-time as well as the participant?s subjective rating of how pleasurable they found the music. Participants also rated what they thought the excerpts of music were intended to elicit.