More threads by lilslugger

Ive found a new way to fight ocd but it is excausting. I keep thinking good thoughts to keep bad ones at bay. I have self harmed alot last month because of ocd. But this is a new month so i'll try to get through it self harm free. I cant keep a job because i think im too stupid to keep a job. I worked in a shop for near 4 years but got fired because of self harm. Now every job i look at i think i'm too stupid to work there. I'm confident i have learning difficulties that are undiagnosed.

Re: ocd and work

Hmm... If you got fired because of your self-harm, then that means you didn't get fired because you were too stupid to do the job, right?

Having a treatable illness is no reason to see oneself as stupid. :support:

NicNak

Resident Canuck
Administrator
I agree with what Charity said.

I worked in a shop for near 4 years but got fired because of self harm.

I am not sure where you live, but I cannot see how this is legal. Is there a union at your work where you can seek council on being fired? Also in Canada, there is the Labour board and folks with diagnosed mental illnesses are protected under the disabilities secion. As well as in the Ontario Human Rights Code

Now every job i look at i think i'm too stupid to work there. I'm confident i have learning difficulties that are undiagnosed.

Sometimes with OCD it is difficult to think or keep thoughts in order. I often find myself in big bouts of confusion. Is it possable the learning difficulties are related to the OCD? Did you have learning difficulties when you were in school?

Last edited:

NicNak

Resident Canuck
Administrator
I found this from the Ontario Human Rights Comission

Ontario Human Rights Commission