More threads by David Baxter PhD

David Baxter PhD

Late Founder
Online Therapy - What I Have Found Works
by Sarah Luczaj
November 3, 2008

I was one of those therapists/counsellors who initially dismissed the whole idea of online therapy as missing out on the vital heart of therapy, the meeting of human beings, with their physical, mental, emotional and spiritual selves all present, interacting in subtle ways probably impossible to fully grasp with the intellect. How could this kind of relationship in all its intricacy be possible through a simple exchange of written words? Would it not be some kind of fatal over-simplification to even try?

However, I am now a practising online therapist/counsellor, and I have found that it is quite possible for therapy to work well in the online medium. (Note I don?t claim that it is always effective as face to face therapy is not always effective either. The success of therapy relies on a myriad of factors within and without both client and therapist.) Therapy can indeed work brilliantly in the online medium. Not just as a second best for people who are housebound or who for some other practical and/or health reason find online therapy the only option, but as real, robust, living therapy in it?s own right!

So online therapy can be perfect for people who feel at ease with the written word, who value exact communication, flexibility, self-direction, and maybe, as I expounded on in my Psychology, Philosophy and Real Life post online therapy for introverts it suits certain personality types down to the ground.