More threads by Daniel E.

Daniel E.

daniel@psychlinks.ca
Administrator
20 Tricks to Nuke a Bad Habit
by Scott Young
ZenHabits.net
July 5, 2007

Are you letting bad habits rule your life? I started learning how to change habits a few years ago. Since then I?ve switched to a vegan diet, began exercising every day, started writing new articles every day, began waking up earlier and trying some wacky experiments to improve my life. Here are some ideas I?ve found useful:

1. Commit for a Month. Thirty days is all you need to make a habit change permanent. Less time than that and the new alternative might not be hardwired into your brain. More time and any failures to last are usually a failure of strategy, not duration.
  2. Replace What You Lose. Your habits fulfill needs. When you suddenly cause a change, you may inadvertently cut them out. Before you make a change, write down all the benefits you currently get from your bad habit and make sure they are retained going into the new habit.
  3. Start Small. Changing habits isn?t a matter of willpower, but patience and strategy. Don?t expect to overhaul your diet, exercise or thinking patterns in a day. Tackle one habit at a time.
  4. Know the Benefits. Get clear in your mind what the benefits are of making a change. If making a change rationally seems good but it doesn't feel good, it won?t stick. Emotions have more power than many of us realize.
  5. Write it Down . Winston Churchill once said, ?Plans are useless, planning is invaluable.? Writing out any commitments you make will give you clarity both to what you desire and how you intend to do it.