More threads by forgetmenot

My daughter was yet again put on anothr med for her psychosis. She is on serquel 600mg epival and soloft now resperidone as her voices are coming more at night time telling her to do things and she is scared she will harm herself again. my question is why so many dam meds she is also on revia to decrease her desire for subtance abuse and alcohol She is on way too many meds and has gained weight ((Edit: potential trigger)) She wants to get off these meds but when she tries to decrease them she becomes more unstable WE questioned the doctor and he response was she needs them despite the weight gain. Are there not medication out there that does not increase her appetite that she can try
She is 20 yrs old and ((Edit: potential triggers)) she is not comfortable at all in this body let alone a mind that is not well
Wishing i could be more supportive of her but really i do not know psychiatric medication tht well i work on medical floor Being a male doctor i don't think he understands how devastating this is for her.

Last edited by a moderator:

David Baxter PhD

Late Founder
My daughter was yet again put on anothr med for her psychosis. She is on serquel 600 mg epival and Zoloft now risperidone as her voices are coming more at night time telling her to do things and she is scared she will harm herself again. my question is why so many dam meds she is also on revia to decrease her desire for subtance abuse and alcohol She is on way too many meds and has gained weight ((Edit: potential trigger)) She wants to get off these meds but when she tries to decrease them she becomes more unstable We questioned the doctor and he response was she needs them despite the weight gain.

You've provided the answer to your question yourself: "when she tries to decrease them she becomes more unstable" and "We questioned the doctor and his response was she needs them despite the weight gain".