More threads by desiderata

desiderata

I've been a CNC machinist for 30 years now. I've bounced around looking for the ideal company and believe I am as close to it as I'll find. It's just that my heart isn't into it any more. I've talked to management about schooling but I am limited to what they deem viable and working 2nd shift makes it hard to find a viable course available. I'm thinking of quitting and hoping I can find that place where they see some talent and I'm able to move to something off the shop floor. Or do I simply settle and accept my fate and be thankful I have a good job?

David Baxter PhD

Late Founder
In the current global economic climate, it's risky yo give up a decent paying job anywhere. However, that doesn't mean you can't start looking for a better one.

Have you explored the possibility of changing shifts within your current company? That might be enough of a difference for now to encourage you toward a job search or viable additional training.

PrincessX

Account Closed
Hi Desiderata, yes, I agree with the above advice. Try to make changes within the job first. Shift changes, full time to part time, and so on. Maybe that would allow you to find a hobby or some training/second job to develop new interests. I, for myself also find that sometimes I contribute depressive moods or problems out of my work environment to my work. Of course, it could be a combination of both or a prevalence of work related factors that make you feel dissatisfied.
Bottom poin, the economy is bad now, and sometimes a less than ideal job is better than no job. Plus, a lot of people get even more unhappy if they leave their jobs and spend a long time finding something better. It is true for me, for sure.

Retired