More threads by David Baxter PhD

David Baxter PhD

Late Founder
When Your Mate Has FASD
FASD Network of Southern California
Retrieved May 5, 2018

Topics

This page is for the partners and sweethearts of men and women affected by FASD.

Why Didn't I See What Was Wrong?

FASD is often an invisible condition. This is especially true when the individual affected by prenatal alcohol exposure lacks the external (especially facial) characteristics associated with FAS, and there is no documented history of maternal alcohol use during pregnancy.

The fact is, most people who were prenatally exposed to alcohol look like people who were not. (In fact, most parents of children with FASD would claim that their children and teens with the condition are very good-looking!) They go to school, work, have friends, hobbies, etc., just like people who were not exposed to alcohol in the womb. And, they try very hard to hide any difficulties the FASD may cause them!

(Although I was a nurse and knew what FAS was, I thought everyone with it had a low IQ. My husband was very bright. So he couldn't have FAS.)... I went through our whole marriage lacking totally (any) understanding that Bob was so affected neurologically. He had no ability to change this behavior, but I believed rather there was a certain “meanness” on his part that he chose to hold onto... for some unknown reason to hurt (me) -- just as his sisters had believed him (even though they had told me that their mother was an alcoholic who was never sober during her entire pregnancy with Bob) as a child to simply be destructive and mean-spirited.

STILL, I was married to him over 40 years, he was the father of my children... (and when he died, I grieved his loss).

Karen L., widow of a man never officially diagnosed with FASD. Posted on the FASLink email list, 2012