More threads by Banned

Banned

Banned
I've been working with my current therapist for just over two years. It was evident very quickly when I started working with her that she was a really good match for me, and I quickly ditched my other therapist when he got back from holidays.

What I learned very, very early with my current therapist is that there really are two "mes" who go to therapy - there's "little me" and "adult me". Some days it's the "little me" that needs therapy - my "inner child" if you're into that kind of stuff, and some days my "adult me" needs therapy. Alot of my depression and other issues are more related to my "little me" and not my adult at all which is why I couldn't get anywhere with my previous therapist - he was completely focused on me as an adult.

Is this common and do they ever intergrate or will they stay separate? When I go to my appointment each week I'm never sure who will get therapy - my adult or my kid - it just depends whose issues stand out the most that week. It's not a bad thing, and I'm fine with it, but I just wondered if this is common and if I'll ever feel integrated and not the separation between the two.

This might not make any sense, and I apologize if it doesn't.

it probably depends on your situation whether this occurs or not. i don't think you'd be the only one. i know i'll feel like a child around certain people, just that vibe they give off that make me feel insecure but i don't think it's the same thing as what you are experiencing.

i would imagine that as you heal you would integrate - but maybe dr. b. can shed some more light on that?