More threads by Daniel E.

Daniel E.

daniel@psychlinks.ca
Administrator
Be Your Own Therapist
By Robert L. Leahy, PhD
HealYourLife.com

Powerful tools to reverse painful moods.

The ultimate goal is to put you in charge of yourself. Over the 27 years I’ve been a practicing therapist, many people have asked me, “Don’t you get depressed working with depressed people?” Ironically, the answer is just the opposite. I feel great working with depressed people, because I know they can be helped.

Yes, the good news is that with effective treatment you can overcome depression—and once you do, you have a good chance of preventing its recurrence. New self-help techniques may be able to help you reverse your negative thinking and your painful sad moods. It’s not easy. It requires work on your part. But there are powerful tools—many kinds of tools—that you can learn to use to help yourself.

Most depressed people can be helped with newer forms of cognitive behavioral therapy (CBT). My colleagues and I have been developing this approach for the past 30 years and it’s now used throughout the world as the psychotherapy treatment of choice for depression and anxiety. This is a therapy that helps you change the way you think (your cognitions) and what you do (your behavior). Once you change the way you think you will change the way you feel and break the cycle of self-perpetuated pain.