More threads by PRJM

PRJM

I'm new, this is my first post and I want to start first by apologizing because honestly, I'm not sure if I'm here for help or I'm just feeling sorry for myself and fishing for someone to commiserate and I do not want to make light of people truly needing help.

With that said, I'll say a little more and wait for your response. I hate my life; I hate the person I am. I struggle every morning just to get out of bed becuase I don't want to do it again. My life is not a case of living as much as it is simply exisiting and I don't see the point in that. I'm 36 with a wife and 3 children all of whom I care for deeply but I have no desire to live another 36 or 26 or 46 years this same way.

Some specific problems are I have a (physical) health issue - IBS (irritable bowel syndrome). I don't really want to get into it because I've been addressing it for about 15 years now with no solution but it's proven that those who suffer from it have a lower quality of life.

I've made some regrettable career moves and am now stuck at a dead end job that does not offer any personal satisfaction. It does, however, hinder the family life I want because of the schedule (completely opposite of my kids) and, while it pays the bills, it doesn't pay enough to relieve the constant financial burden my wife and I have.

I just don't see any light at the end of the tunnel.

Retired

Hello PRJM and thanks for joining Psychlinks. No need to apologize for sharing your situation, which is obviously causing considerable distress.

You posted your remarks in the suicide section, so does this mean you are contemplating suicide?

Mood disorders are a treatable medical illness, so no one has to endure the kind of pain you are feeling. Because of the nature of this illnes, thinking becomes distorted so that suicide appears to be an option to stop the pain.

However with the right kind of treatment, there is hope for alleviating the symptoms that are causing your pain.