More threads by Cat Dancer

When you've given up on everything you once cared about how do you get back to caring? What if you're just a big bundle of sorrow and pain?

Jazzey

Account Closed
Hi Cat Dancer,

I wanted to tell you I'm sorry you're having a bad day. I'll try to give you advice, I want to give you advice - but I'm not good at following. So, I'll just tell you what I'm slowwwly learning (on minute at a time).

I appreciate the small moments during the day: the sound of children laughing and being carefree, the smile of a colleague who seems genuinely happy to cross paths with you in the hallway, your neighbors' dog that runs up to get unconditional love as you treck to your home, the smell of a homemade meal, a kind person at the grocery store who lets you go ahead because they recognize that you have fewer groceries than they do....I really just look at all of these small incidents during the day and focus on those for the time being. When a negative thought intrudes on me, I recall those small pictures.

I know that my advice isn't much right now but, I at least wanted you to know that I'm sending you "positive vibes".

So here are three more positive images from my day today: A kitten in one of those portable kennels (I don't remember how to say in English) who purred away as I scratched his chin, a co-worker's daughter (4 years old) who ran up to me at the end of the day and insisted on a hug from me, and finally, a bouquet of flowers left anonymously on my desk to welcome me back to work....

When I focus on these little gestures, I can get back to remembering what I love.

Thanks, Jazzey. Your advice is very good and helps me think about the things that make/made me happy at one time. I really appreciate you taking the time to answer me and help me. Thank you again.

:)

it's one step at a time, as cliche as it sounds. talking to us is a step you can take and that is what you just did :hug: