More threads by Raina

Raina

I tried to hide the fact that I had a mental health diagnosis by not disclosing to people that I met. I tried very hard to be normal but I am not normal so that was a stretch. I started learning social skills in my 30s and I learned a bit about CBT...when I went back to school at 36 years old I disclosed and went in as a student with a mental disability and I was relaxed going to the area designated for students with disabilities. I got extra time to complete exams...I got a lot of tools to help me get through school something I had given up on doing once I turned 30...I graduated at the top of my class and my picture hangs in the disability office as a student with a disability who was successful at completing college...as motivation for other students with a disability.