More threads by butterfly88

butterfly88

I'm not sure what to get out of this. I'm not technically new - but I've been absent for a while, and I've never posted before - so that's why I'm posting here ...

My DXs include major depression, generalized and social anxiety disorder, obsessive compulsive personality disorder, and dysthymic disorder. I tried to commit suicide nearly 11 years ago (actually 5 May will be exactly 11 years) and am happy to say that while I think about dying - or rather not living on a semi-regular basis - I have no desire to actually kill myself - as I don't want to die. Does any one else get that? - The feeling that you don't want to live - but you don't want to die? People who don't suffer from depression don't seem to get what that means...

Anyway - I've been on and off of meds and in and out of therapy so many times, and I am done with both. But I am suffering so much right now, and I just don't know what to do. I can't seem to find the good in anything. I can't find the positives that I know must be there. I just continue to perseverate on all the negatives - all the ways in which I am not living up to what I thought I would be. It's been like this for about 2 years - though it comes in waves - each one is deeper and never breaks the surface on the way back up. Nothing is right - and everything is wrong. And no matter how how hard I try to see my way out of that thinking I can't see clear to the other side.

I don't know why I am here ...

Retired

Butterfly,

Thanks for posting and sharing your story.

I can only imagine how May 5 must be a difficult anniversary for you to remember. Are you becoming OK with it after these 11 years?

Would you elaborate as to why you are not taking medication any longer?

Hope you find the help and support you might want here on Psychlinks.

Halo

Welcome to Psychlinks Butterfly :welcome2: