More threads by cosmo

cosmo

Because I was in state-funded therapy (psychodynamic psychotherapy) I only got the bare minimum - 6mo followed by another 6mo extension. This stopped a couple weeks ago now. I will not get a review by the psychiatrist for another 6mo according to the policies laid out by our health care provision.

I am a now MESS. Flashbacks, OCD, depression, extreme anxiety and now some seemingly manic symptoms, whereas the reason I went into therapy was just boring old depression. The last few weeks of therapy unearthed a whole canning factory of worms, and it was just not processed adequately before I left. Also because of the issues behind the depression, I am NOT good at endings, making it 100x worse.

I feel that I will not last 6mo, and indeed my GP has me on diazepam for the anxiety. But she can't get me any therapy until that 6mo consult (and then the waiting list will be about a year after).

Is it too soon to look at privately funded therapy? I don't like the idea as it won't be mandated or regulated by my GP. But I can't really see myself 'lasting' that long without dealing with the issues not 'closed' by the previous therapy.

How does it work? In time-limited therapy is there a point where a psychiatrist realises you have finished 'too soon' and you get sent straight back for more? Is there a statutory time after termination before which you shouldn't 'bounce back' into therapy as the 'old' therapy is still working / being processed?

I am very confused as I know that our system works differently here in the UK, and I know there are some problems with my case, but I don't know quite where the wool is being pulled over my eyes. I feel taken advantage of as I don't know enough, but I know enough that it is wrong. I can't seem to get a straight answer out of anyone - not even a proper diagnosis, other than 'depression' - but it is obviously so much more than that.