More threads by Radix

Radix

Hi, I’m a high school graduate planning on starting my college career in a two-year college (Georgia Perimeter College). I’m interested in human/computer interactions as well as Cognitive Psychology. My questions and concerns regard my major.

I understand that the field of Psychology generally requires a Masters or preferably a Doctorate whereas in Computer Science you can generally get off with a Bachelor’s degree. What should I start my major as, Computer Science, Psychology, or something else? What kinds of classes should I take? Would it be a good idea to try and get a dual major in Psychology and Computer Science? What should I look forware to in Grad school (assuming I'm going)?

Daniel E.

daniel@psychlinks.ca
Administrator
Do you know what you want to be? A psychologist or therapist? A software tester?

Radix

Computer Science for me is just a hobby as I've been programming since I was 13. But what I really want to be is a psychologist (definately not a therapist). I've been reading a lot of Psychology related materials such as The Synaptic Self, some of Noam Chomsky's work, ect. I figure with cognitive psychology I would be able to apply my interest in computers better than say Freudian psychology.

Daniel E.

daniel@psychlinks.ca
Administrator
A major in psychology is definitely the way to go then. Many colleges do have an elective course on cognitive psychology that is offered by the psychology department.

The most relevent undergraduate computer science course would probably be Intro. to Artificial Intelligence.

David Baxter PhD

Late Founder
I agree with Daniel. You are probably looking at a Ph.D. in cognitive psychology/computer modeling if you want to do anything significant in the area.

HA

Welcome Redix,