More threads by David Baxter PhD

David Baxter PhD

Late Founder

Navigating disclosure: Who is worthy of our trust?

by Melody Moezzi, bpHope.com
Feb 6, 2021

Decisions about disclosure are tricky and personal; there’s no one-size-fits-all answer that works for everyone. The key is, what’s best for you?

bipolar-stigma-progress2.jpg

It’s been more than a decade since I first publicly shared my bipolar diagnosis, and not once since then have I ever regretted it. That said, decisions about disclosure are tricky and personal. There’s no one-size-fits-all answer that works for everyone. In my case, full disclosure to the world (in this column, in my memoir, on NPR, on CNN, in the New York Times—you get the picture) made sense, because I’m an author, activist, and public speaker who dispenses ideas for a living.

Still, having worked in more traditional occupations in the past (as an attorney and a professor), I fully recognize that on the spectrum of standard professions, mine sits way at the bottom, somewhere between circus performer and war photographer. But regardless of how typical (or atypical) our personal or professional circumstances may be—whether we work a steady 9-to-5 job or a 24-7 position as a parent, or are unemployed or underemployed due to disability, or some combination thereof—there are certain questions we need to consider when grappling with decisions around disclosure.

First up: To whom will we disclose? Before deciding when, how, and how much to disclose about our condition (which I will address in my next few columns), we must first decide who is worthy of our confidence. Chief among the factors to consider are dependability, compassion, and capacity to help in light of our particular situation and relationship.
When it comes to disclosing to friends and family, remember their track records: Have they been supportive in the past? Have they ever betrayed your confidence? Do they genuinely care for your best interests?