More threads by ecshoho

ecshoho

I am relatively new to therapy (have been going for about 7 months now). I have noticed since I started therapy that some things have happened and I am not sure if these are normal or how to handle them. To start, I started therapy in crisis mode. I sought therapy following a loss in my life. Now though, I am finding so many other things to talk about. I suffer with anxiety, OCD and I am a people pleaser. Here is what has happened over the last couple of months (and I appreciate any guidance/advice I can get).

1. I find myself worrying about my T's feelings and I am catching myself trying to be her most perfect client. In my session yesterday I made a comment that I now worry may have hurt her feelings. I feel as though I should email her and apologize or something. I have tried to bring it up with her that I am thinking of her more like a rent a friend or something, but she didn't seem to worried about it. I am catching myself doing extra homework outside of sessions to try and impress or please her in some way. I am doing everything she asks and then some to be better than her other clients or something. This leads to concern number two.

2. I can't stop thinking about my therapy. My sessions have been intense, yet when I go home I journal, re-evaluate what was said. I find myself questioning what I said, thinking I should have said something differently or wishing I hadn't brought something up at all. I have my nose buried in journals and websites trying to find ways to help myself, like I need to fix myself faster or something. It is exhausting.

Has anyone else gone through anything like this?

Thanks