More threads by no point

no point

I have been seeing a new therapist 3 times a week for the past 5 months. She's more experienced than my previous psychologist. She says I have PTSD. She explained me what it is but I just don't think I have it. She says I have a lot of traumatic experiences and she says even one of them would be enough to traumatize someone. The thing is how can it be PTSD if I don't have flashbacks? I have intrusive memories but they're not that bad. It's just that sometimes I think about them. When I talk about them with my therapist, I don't show any emotions but it's mostly because I don't feel anything. I don't feel anything when I talk about those experiences so how can those experiences be traumatic? Don't get me wrong, I trust my therapist but I think she is looking for traumatic experiences. I sometimes get scared or get panic attacks when someone touches me but I think it's mostly anxiety based. So I'm really confused about this diagnosis. I guess I'm looking for more information on PTSD and the information I found on the net isn't helping me much. It's only confirming that I do not have PTSD. So why would my therapist say I have PTSD? Also, I have dissociation and my therapist says it's linked to PTSD but I thought they were two seperate diagnosis. I guess I'm really confused. Thanks in advance for any replies.

David Baxter PhD

Late Founder
We can't tell you how accurate that diagnosis is, no point. However,