More threads by northern barbarian

Hello everyone!

Sorry for many grammatical errors, I’m not a native speaker.

I’m asking your help. It can be an advice or just a suggestion regarding my life situation. Maybe you can give me some answers to the questions below.

I’m not too old man (27), but I haven’t ever felt young. Considering how much opportunities I have lost and how little progress I’ve achieved, I feel ashamed.

At the moment I am at a crossroads, in rather uncertain life circumstances. I don’t like my current job now and the salary is small. In addition, I can lose it. It seems that there is every kind of reasons for changing it. But I have no experience in other jobs, and I (still!) don’t know if I like my profession. Also I’m afraid to look like fool, because of being an amateur. I’ve been always studying very well, and I feel ashamed every time I do something wrong.

As for the hobby – the things I do fine are reflection and self-accusation. I can realize destructive nature of self-accusation. And still I continue to blame myself. Because I can always find a reason for this.
My other “hobbies” are the following: videogames (shooters, mostly), movies, TV shows, fiction books. In a nutshell, I have been drowning in escapism and passivity for the last 15-20 years.
Being self-absorbed I think that I’m not capable to love somebody. I still don’t have a girlfriend; I’m too shy and anxious for just one try.

When I think about my last actions I often remember the bad ones and call myself coward, scoundrel, egoist, etc. Sometimes it gives me some kind of masochistic pleasure, sometimes it brings me relief, because I accept my every flaw and I consider my everlasting position of loner and nonstarter to be the highest justice.

I made an interesting observation recently. Over the past few months I have lost about 10 kg with home exercises. And I have become even more sensitive and nervous than I was. Does our body fat somehow protect our nervous system?