More threads by Halo

Halo

Stigma in Everyday Life: A Psychologist's Half Truths
By Martha Manning
July 23, 2008

Dealing with the stigma of depression is far easier in the abstract than face to face, often when we least expect it. I am a clinical psychologist and I suffer from a mood disorder. Occasionally someone will remark that these dual roles are a winning combination. But sometimes they are just the reverse.

It was a packed Sunday night at the pharmacy. My fellow procrastinators and I gathered to fill prescriptions that were perilously close to the refill deadline. I looked like I'd gotten dressed in the dark-in my husband's faded Redskin's sweatshirt, purple sweatpants and a pair of running shoes that were purchased at the inception of the NIKE brand. My hair had that "should have washed it the day before, but I just didn't feel like it" style, with sections that had clearly seceded from the overall design.

Pharmacy sections are always elevated, making me feel like a supplicant rather than a paying consumer of their products. When the pharmacist looks down from his platform, I feel like I'm petitioning the Great Oz. We procrastinators stand around rolling our eyes about the wait, grudgingly admit our culpabilty for the delay, and vigorously scan for disruptions in the rightful order of service. A voice from on high calls, "Manning." I take a few steps and admit that the name belongs to me. The pharmacist aide asks innocently, but a bit too loudly, "Do you want the Lithium in childproof or regular bottles?" Moments like these make me wish for a trap door beneath my feet in which the sheer power of mortification would trip the exit, allowing me to disappear.