More threads by Jesse910

I've been working with my therapist for several years. It's taken me a long time to feel comfortable with her because I have a difficult time trusting women even though I am one. For the most part, I am comfortable with her and have gained a lot of wisdom from her that has enabled me to move past depression and the pitfalls of bipolar towards a balanced and stable lifestyle. Yet, throughout the years I have seen her, I have never given her complete access to me. There's always a part of me that I hold back.

Last week, out of the blue, she asked for my home address. While that is an innocuous question, I balked at it. It was as though she had invaded my turf and robbed me of all that was sacred. She has my office, home and cell phone numbers and my postal address. She reminded me that I had given her grief when I first started seeing her over the same thing. Her retort was that she would not see me unless she had the information. And, while I continued to ask why she needed it, the only thing she would say was that she needed it for her records.

I moved a few months ago and this is what prompted her request. A very long time ago, I was in a crisis state and my phone rang. It was a close friend of mind. When I told her what I had done, she immediately called the paramedics, who showed up. Because I was able to articulate my thoughts and sounded halfway decent, I was able to get the paramedics to leave. Unbeknown to me, my mother had also been called by this friend and she had keys to my apartment at the time and she intervened and I was taken to the hospital. For that reason, I have never trusted friends, family, or therapist in a crisis.