More threads by kevin123

kevin123

I am a college student and I have this intense feeling that other people automatically dislike me. I don't know why this is and it has really started to get to me. It has made it very difficult to make new friends and almost impossible to start a relationship.

For instance, when I am in class everybody seems to be best friends, while I am just ignored. When I try to start a conversation with someone, it seems like their smile just disappears even though I was trying to be upbeat and friendly. It makes me feel like I am some alien from another plant, and I'm just not wanted at all. This feeling makes it so difficult to talk to people, especially women. Everywhere I go it seems like everyone is happy and in a relationship while I am just left out like I didn't even exist. I just have this feeling wherever I go that everyone hates me or will the second I talk to them. I know this is probably just in my head, but it feels very real and I don't know what to do about it. I feel so alone sometimes and it breaks my heart to live in a world without any love. Has anyone else gone through this? Does anyone have any advice?

Andy

MVP
Hi Kevin123,

Sorry your feeling so alone right now.

I can understand this quite a bit. I am still like this. My friends always use to get so annoyed with me because I would swear that this person or that person hated me because of some vibe I got from them or something they said. It is a horrible feeling, odd man out.
With me it was a combination of anxiety/low self esteem and low self confidence which in turn made me awkward which made me feel like I pushed people away more.

It sounds like you are trying to "fake it til you make it". Personally I found that playing the part doesn't always work when there are other issues like anxiety etc. underneath it all.

Are any of these a major problem with you? Would you see a counselor or therapist to talk about some of these things?

tryindbt