More threads by Allegro

Allegro

...I have been recieving ECT's for about two years now, and I have actually been almost depression free for that time. I still have ups and down once in a while, but NOTHING like what it was like before I began the treatments. No, it is not fun, but the alternative is usually several hospital stays in the year, or worse, suicide. I have lost large portions of my memory, but I don't mind trading that for the chance to be depression free. Overall, shock treatment has been a good treatment alternative.

However, my psychiatrist who performs the treatments is a colossal B*tch! She doesn't listen, she interupts me every time I try to speak with a loud, naselly "Hanh?" She gets irratated with me easily and lets it show, and she is jealous and suspiscious of my other psychiatrist who has been my doctor and therapist for going on ten years, even though it was him who encouraged me to seek treatment with her in the first place! She threatened to stop being my doctor about three months ago if I didn't let her handle all of my med changes and decisions, and my other doc (DR. L.") graciously stepped aside so she could indeed handle all of my med decisions. He actually cares about my well-being, and I can tell that she doesn't give a d*mn as long as I keep paying her fee.

Why don't I fire her? I would love to! I fantasize about it! "Guess what Dr. R! You are the most idotic, insensitive, greedy, egocentric little germ I have ever met! I have decided to FIRE you!" Alas, Dr. L. keeps telling me that inspite of her being the biggest jerk in the universe, she is also the only game in town. He doesn't want me to stop with the ECT's because I have had so much success with them. I am having them once every four weeks (she recently changed it from every three weeks) and all the way up until two weeks ago, the ECT's combined with med therapy seemed to be working groovy.