More threads by enduran

enduran

A relative is paying the majority of my rent and has been doing so for a while.

ODSP is counting these gifts as income. They say that a gift must be an occasional event, while the rent payment is a regular, monthly occurrence. For some reason, this makes it income instead?

I can't find any info regarding this. The ODSP Act doesn't define income vs gifts. The ODSP doesn't mention anything about this either.

It seems very strange that a gift could somehow be transformed into income simply because it is given on a monthly basis vs in a few lump sums.

Does anyone have any info that would help clarify the situation?

David Baxter PhD

Late Founder
Disclaimer: I am not a lawyer and not an expert on ODSP.

You can always appeal, of course. But I'm not sure how far that would get you.

However, ODSP is supposed to consider your expenses, your assets (e.g., savings, investments, RRSPs, etc.), and any recurring income when determining both your eligibility for ODSP as well as the level of support from ODSP.

Given that you say your relative has been paying a portion of your rent for sometime, I'm afraid that would seem to qualify as additional income. The only other way I think it might be considered is a reduction in your expenses but that probably wouldn't help you in terms of the amount of support you are eligible for either.

enduran

My understanding is that an ODSP recipient is was allowed to receive a maximum of $10,000 in any number of gifts over a 12 month period, after which any additional funds are counted as income.

My impression was that it is very common for ODSP recipients to receive monthly help with rent and bills from relatives in the form of gifts. Didn't they just raise the gift limit in acknowledgment of this?
`
Thank you very much for the feedback, David. I can't say this makes any sense to me still, but very few things do anymore.

David Baxter PhD

Late Founder
I might suggest a a possible way around this.