More threads by BattleBack

Even though some stories in the mainstream media have worked to educate that public that PTSD is not just a 'vets' disorder, I think most people quickly think 'vet' when they hear 'PTSD'.

Now, before any vets jump on me hold up: I'm a vet myself.

But there are people who can have very, very severe PTSD that were never in uniform and never saw conflict. For instance, children who grow up in Watts or the Bronx and see people get smoked on the street routinely by violent gangs or EMT's in a big city or someone who is kidnapped and held against their will for long periods.

I sometimes worry that non-vets with PTSD are either not taken seriously or may face a greater social judgement for having PTSD but not ever having been in a war. And it should be mentioned that two people serving side by side and having similar experiences with nearly the exact same external stressors..one might walk away 'fine' and the other not to the point they lost much of their life to the symptoms of PTSD.

Anyway, I hope the people here with PTSD who weren't vets of foreign wars do not feel they have a more trivial form of PTSD or that the reasons for their PTSD are trivialized. If you suffer with PTSD, it simply stinks..no matter the catalysts.

Domo

Inactive
Maybe it's just my age showing but when i think of PTSD, i don't think of war vets...

But agreed that i hope no one is trivialised.

David Baxter PhD

Late Founder
Maybe it's just my age showing but when i think of PTSD, i don't think of war vets...

But agreed that i hope no one is trivialised.

Ditto. When I hear PTSD, I tend to think first of victims of assaults, child abuse, motor vehicle accidents, house fires, criminal victimization, or traumatic losses of loved ones. etc. Then I think of police officers, firemen, and paramedics. And then I think of military personel.

Jazzey

Account Closed
EMT's in a big city or someone who is kidnapped and held against their will for long periods.