More threads by bettinaishere

IN 2003 my (then) 15 year old daughter became obsessively involved with a 16 year old boy who controlled her to the point that he brainwashed her into thinking she did not deserve to be treated properly, that she was not to talk to anyone at all (including me) except him, not to try at school (she is very clever and achieved much higher grades than he did). It was made worse when I tried to gently involve her with others by having a young 16 year old girl from my school (I am a teacher) who was temporarily homeless come and stay with us for 2 weeks. He got very angry about it, and for the next six months, tried his best to turn her away from me. He was helped by his parents who strangely supported him in his quest to stop her from going home. She became very abusive towards me, I now have found out that many of the very hurtful and cruel things she said to me, he made her practice for hours before coming home and saying them. At times she tells me now, she felt like giving up because she didnt know how to get herself out of it. I went through a breakdown over it, and became suicidal at one stage. It got so bad for me I tried to get her to live with them and when she refused, I made arrangements for her to go to boarding school, and I took a job overseas for awhile.

The above is only a brief comment of what happened, as it is very distressful still to think about it all. My problem is that now we are close again, and she has told me how badly he was treating her. I always thought it was just me and that even though he was controlling her, he was still being nice to her. Apparently, he was treating her so badly that his parents told her that she had to get away from him, and go back to her mum. She eventually got the courage to stand up and say "enough" and after several more months, the courage to try and mend things with me.