More threads by dasha

dasha

Hi. I am new to this and am quite freaked out as to what is happening right now. I ended up in the ER of a psych. hospital this weekend because I had a major meltdown. I have been treated by a shrink once a week for the past 15 yrs and always wonder why it has taken so long and I am not cured. I ask him if it will happen and he does not know. He gave me the diagnosis of PTSD but it makes partial sense only. I say to him that I have these episodes of rage and sadness and I need to know what it is...no answer! Well I yelled at the shrink at the hospital this weekend and broke down and he told me I have Borderline. He says my shrink(of 15yrs) didn't tell me because he is afraid of how I may react and what I would do to myself! Is this common practice? Ihave left a message at his office but don't know if he will call back. This whole thing started because he set me off by not calling me back. In November when I missed my appt he didn't call back for 6 days and the 2nd time, well...he still hasn't called. Does anyone have any insight ?

Jazzey

Account Closed
Hi Dasha - and welcome to Psychlinks! :)

As for your question, I don't know the answer. But maybe someone here has some insight. I would think that it wouldn't be common practice to not disclose a diagnosis...

Retired

Welcome to Psychlinks, Dasha! Sorrry to hear about your difficult experience.

Is your long term (15 years) therapist a psychiatrist, psychologist or other health professional?

He says my shrink(of 15yrs) didn't tell me because he is afraid of how I may react and what I would do to myself!

What is the concern about what you might you do to yourself?

In November when I missed my appt he didn't call back for 6 days and the 2nd time, well...he still hasn't called. Does anyone have any insight ?

Is thee a secretary or nurse in his office you can speak to? What about a visit in person to find out why your calls are not returned.