More threads by healthbound

Random (or maybe not so random?) thoughts regarding my anxiousness about going back to work.

I recently had an opportunity to submit an article to a newspaper for publication. I've never written an article before, so this was a new experience. I found myself feeling extremely anxious about doing my absolute best on it. I worked hard on it and finished it and did well. So well, that I got to write another one immediately afterward for the same publication. Again, my anxiety was extremely high.

I never considered submitting something that was less than "as perfect as I could get it".

And while this attitude may be a "great" one to have, it's really stressful. If I feel like I have to do or produce things at such a high standard, I'm always nervous that it's not good enough or I'm not doing it right. Plus, I'm always going to spend a lot of time, energy and effort on "it". Sure, it feels GREAT when I complete whatever "it" is. And it feels exceptionally GREAT when I succeed at doing an excellent job at it. But, holy crap - it sure is draining to do everything at that level.

I think this perception of mine is one of the reasons I've been feeling much fear about going back to work.

If I put pressure on myself to be "exceptional" or "excellent", no wonder I'm nervous to go back to work. I know what it means to be competing for the "exceptional" spot. It's hard work - long hours, less eating, high anxiety, constant movement etc. No wonder I finally burned out a year ago. And actually --- I even burned out really well too! I became immobilized by anxiety, depression and sadness to the point of becoming suicidal.

I perceive that I need to do things right or maybe not at all. No wonder I've been finding the whole concept of "balance" challenging!