More threads by forgetmenot

I wish my brother had someone who could have seen the signs (of his suicide) and helped him.

I am a nurse and i didn't see it either i wish i did but i had too many other people needing me who i thought were more critical.

I should have seen it and helped him now he is gone i won't screw up again. I'll keep my sister and daughter safe somehow i am going to have them both live with me so i can watch them more closely.

Last edited by a moderator:

Retired

Re: Suicide Assessment

Mary,

You should not hold yourself responsible for your brother's suicide. As you know, people contemplating suicide sometimes give clues prior to the act, but others do not.

How long has it been since your brother's death?

i won't screw up again ill keep my sister and daughter safe somehow i am going to have them both live with me so i can watch them more closely

Is there any reason to feel your sister and daughter are at risk for suicide?

Have you considered seeing a mental health professional to help deal with your feelings of guilt?

Mari

MVP
Dear Mary, I am so sorry for the loss of your brother. My son died by suicide just over three years ago and I continue to suffer great sorrow from missing him so much. My son did not show any extreme or obvious signs that would indicate suicide so it was a very great shock. Take good care of yourself. :heart: Mari

NicNak

Resident Canuck
Administrator
I am sorry for your loss Mary :hug:

TSOW is right, some people do not show any signs of distress before suicide. Some of us hide our pain very well.

Please don't put any blame on yourself.

Sorry for your loss too Mari :hug: