More threads by QueenMary48

Hi I have never done this before. I am 48 years old, female, married. Over the last few years I have not been myself. Its hard to explain. recently I have started talking to a Psychologist, its been hard but I hope over time I will get better. I just feel sometimes when I am talking that I am just being a bother, like my problems are not worthy of someones time. I am trying to open up but its just so difficult, He is a wonderful person and I know thats not what he thinks, I just wish I could truly let go and really talk.

Daniel E.

daniel@psychlinks.ca
Administrator
Welcome :)

I just feel sometimes when I am talking that I am just being a bother, like my problems are not worthy of someones time.

Such reluctance seems common. Of course, therapy is about your goals, needs, and desires, not about those of the psychologist, who is a paid professional. As long as the psychologist is getting paid (by you, your insurance, or your tax dollars), it's impossible to waste his time, IMHO, especially since therapy sessions are usually timed to begin with.

Last edited:
welcome :wave4:

it takes a while to get comfortable enough to open up to a therapist, and that's ok. in time you will be able to open up more. it is hard in the beginning but do what you can, and as the trust builds it'll become easier.

you've taken a courageous step by deciding to go see a psychologist and this is something to be proud of. you aren't being a bother. this is what his job is about, listening to people about their problems and helping them deal with them. look at it this way. you are giving him the opportunity to help someone. for some people that is a real gift :)

welcome again to psychlinks :tiphat:

Mary think of it this way. Your therapist probably has mortgage payments car payments and bills to pay. So while your getting help from a therapist which is usually from somebody who really really love their job you are also helping them to pay there bills.