More threads by David Baxter PhD

David Baxter PhD

Late Founder
Seven Questions for David D. Burns
By Ryan Howes, Ph.D., Psychology Today
January 07, 2009

The author of the "most prescribed self-help book" has a lot to say about the Seven Questions. Brace yourself, he doesn't pull any punches. The intent of this project is illumination of the diverse theories, techniques and personalities influencing contemporary psychotherapy. Today the outspoken Dr. Burns imparts his knowledgeable, provocative and substantial opinions.

David D. Burns (M.D., Stanford University, 1970), is an Adjunct Clinical Professor of Psychiatry Emeritus at the Stanford University School of Medicine and has served as visiting scholar at Harvard Medical School. His Feeling Good has sold over 4 million copies and is the book most often recommended for individuals suffering from depression by American and Canadian mental health professionals. I've even prescribed it, and I'm a psychodynamic therapist.

I'd refer to Dr. Burns as a central figure in the development of Cognitive Therapy, but in his response to Question 3 he opposes joining schools of psychotherapy. Instead I'll just say this highly respected clinician and author has penned 11 books, most of which are found in the Cognitive Therapy section of your bookstore. His latest debuted only last week, with the following press release:

Based on 25 years of clinical experience and groundbreaking research involving more than 1,000 individuals, Feeling Good Together: The Secret to Making Troubled Relationships Work makes a case against the current popular theories about why we can't seem to get along (e.g., Men are from Mars, Women are from Venus), and offers a radically different approach for solving virtually any kind of relationship conflict. Dr. Burns provides numerous helpful examples and powerful, user-friendly tools for developing more loving and satisfying relationships with anyone.