More threads by panpan

panpan

Hi, almost a month ago I was diagnose by my doctor that I have dysthymia. He gave me sertraline (Zoloft USA & Canada; generic = sertraline) and Rivotril (Klonopin U.S.A.& Canada, generic = clonazepam). Here's what I had experience when taking those drugs. On my first week I felt very sleepy, I couldn't even surf the net for an hour. and I felt like floating, it made me felt good and very relaxed. Today, almost a month or a month past I feel kinda down, feeling unworthy, or something like that. Not in the mood of anything and loss my appettite.

Here's a brief story about me. I'm a graduate of a four year degree course and up to now I dont have a job. I did apprentices but I quit everytime I felt like I can't do it anymore. It happened 4 times. I quitted my last work coz everytime I woke up thinking of going to work makes me feel nauseated and I wanted to vomit. That's when I realize i needed to see a psychiatrist, hence he said Dysthymia.

For five years of not having a job makes me loose a lot of confidence. When compare to my friends who are very successful. I wanted to do good in my carreer, changing it is not an option either. I just don't know what to do anymore. Please help me.

Last edited by a moderator:

chell

Hi There; l have Dysthymia and have been on medication for many years for it. Dysthymia is when our moods are always down and feeling generally depressed most of the time. lt never made me want to stop working, but l went through some other symptoms you have such as wanting to sleep all the time, eating more then normal (for me at least)
As far as your meds go, you really need to see a Dr. for that because it sounds like the meds are not working for you at all and you need to switch to something else and working with your Dr. just as l did, you will be able to come up with a new cocktail. Good Luck to you, Chell

Daniel E.

daniel@psychlinks.ca
Administrator